Self-destruct

I adore you
You despise me
I reach out to you
You draw away from me
I’m endeared to you
You find me repulsive
I cry for the pain you cause me
You laugh at my tears
I want to build you up
You want to self-destruct
You detest me – the one who loves you
And court those who plot your fall
Now you find yourself in the dungeons
Tell me how long before it’s the end
For what measure of time you stay ousted
Before the end begins
And Gog and his cohorts lick the dust
I pray you, do not stay awayΒ too long
For you my soul yearns
This great gully between us
I can reach out across no more
And in the event that this made no sense
And self-destruction is the way for you
Just know I was the one who loved you
The one who still loves you despite

9 responses to “Self-destruct

  1. I sooo second Swag on that one! A steadfast love such as this one described here, can only come from God! Man will tire out at some point! Plus, sometimes; no matter how much we love a person and try to guide, guard and keep ’em safe from harm against their will; there will come a time where it behooves on us to leave ’em be and allow ’em the free reins to make their own mistakes! If they come out unscathed with few or no scars, all good and fine! All one can do is just to pray for ’em in the background; behind the scenes, so that whatever outcome or eventuality of their action’s not fatal in the long run! πŸ˜”

    Wonderful piece of poetry Zee, am sure parents of teenagers can especially relate with this! Kudos! πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a conversation between God and the children of Israel, however it is still very true in this time and age, because so many are out there self destructing,but God remains ever faithful to his promises even when we despise Him. And He is constantly conversation with us but times choose to pay deaf ears to His words and choose to follow the path of destruction. Nice one Zika,keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

