silent screams 

today
again, I lose the battle
against
what is and what should be
this
penury of courage 
leaves me
wanting, I can’t start over
the end
comes upon me 
like
the rushing east wind
and
seizes all strength 
yes
banishes hope to the gallows
my 
silence screams
the object 
of my fear taunts me ceaselessly
and 
i die a thousand times 
and
i’d rather not rise again
for
the pain of rising
is
greater than the thrill of it
don’t 
try to smooth-talk me
or
say it’s going to be fine
or
 try to pick me a rose
or 
say tomorrow will be better 
we both
know where today ends
indeed 
our veils of innocence
were
lifted ahead of their time. 

4 responses to “silent screams 

  1. this here is despondency painted…
    sometimes to lay down and accept defeat is the only thing we can summon the courage to do….to lie down and accept the hand dealt by fate.
    this is a hauntingly beautiful poem

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This! The imagery, and the words… I could feel the despondence of the narrator. We get tired of the “i’m fine’s” and “you’ll be fine’s”, and recognise the feeling of what really is. But the beauty of humans, is that we don’t know how to stay down. We always pick ourselves up. We always move on. We always find the courage to rise again to fall, and then rise again. Sometimes, it really is the end. But sometimes too, it is really just the beginning of the beginning.

    I love this bit ma’am! Totally. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

