Speak Watchman, Speak

Awakened by the soreness
The pained numbness of limbs
Only now come to life
E’en though ’tis fleeting
On the watchtower
The vantage perspective
Where the mouth must speak what the eye does see –
The whole of its obligation just yet
Day began at yesterday’s dusk
Thousands of its kind I beheld
‘Tis but I who felt the deafening silence
On those long moon promenades
When the city slept in careless abandon
And know in my present obstinate self denial
That time has come
When the eyes must instead see
What the mouth does speak
The mouth of the mind –
Our strongest arsenal yet
In but little
I’ll see no more, speak no more
Another watcher will wear these shoes
Grateful for his today
As already I am of tomorrow
What next – the day after?
For now, speak watchman, speak

30 responses to “Speak Watchman, Speak

  1. First off:you are beautiful! And, I am not just talking about your looks. Second of all: you are my fave sister’s namesake!How cool is that, yeah? I simply simply love this poem! well done zikis!(hope you don’t that passionate alteration,haha!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw! Thank you Desirรฉe (that’s my fave name for you until i get something more apt.โ˜บ I find it cool that your fave sister and I share the same name. Capital coolness. And no I don’t mind at all the alteration. You can’t imagine how many of those passionate alterations I have been assigned since I came on to the blogosphere. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I’m glad you liked the poem too. Many thought it was riddled with some puzzle here and there and was open to many interpretations so I’m happy that you like it at all๐Ÿ˜…
      Thank you for coming here, Desirรฉe. hope you enjoy your stay. Too, I love your poems. Trรจs bien. ๐Ÿ‘

      Like

  2. Hmmm, Watchwoman, I hear your lines

    Echoing words in new designs

    What words would you have me say?

    Thou knowest much, show then me the way…

    I ask only of your verse here

    That you allow stanzas to tear

    The thoughts to herald differing prayers

    Split in ideas across different areas

    Cool on your diction

    Or your words will read like fiction

    Far from our reality’s reach…

    Thanks for these lines; they’ve made us rich.

    From:”Zika’s Musings” Date:Tue, 1 Sep, 2015 at 19:34 Subject:[New post] Speak Watchman, Speak

    zikaolofin posted: “Awakened by the soreness The pained numbness of limbs Only now come to life E’en though ’tis fleeting On the watchtower The vantage perspective Where the mouth must speak what the eye does see – The whole of its obligation just yet Day began at yester”

    Liked by 3 people

  3. …This one is a bit too deep but it shows how amazingly cavernous your mind is…I am a bit lost in this poetic maze but It brings Habakkuk to mind…I will stand and watch what He will say to me….he that will come will come and not tarry…the watchtower is about hope, a bright future irrespective of how dark it is now…..DAWN IS COMING….GLORIOUS DAWN…Zee you know about dawns, don’t you…(winks)

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I do love the title of this masterpiece Honeycomb, and the line…’the mouth of the mind; I especially love! I’d also like to believe that God is the Ultimate ‘Watchman’, He who neither sleeps nor slumbers’! However hard we keep watch and pray, except He watches over the city, they labour in vain that stay awake! Mortals will weary out but the Lord, He’s forever keeping vigil of His own!

    ‘Awe-tastic’ Sucre, that’s what this is and who you are! Keep it coming! โค๐Ÿ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

