Hiatus

image

She wanders back in time to days
When laze for days she could
A well deserv-ed hi-a-tus
Time out from what’s routine

Time out then was indeed time out
No TV, mobile phones
No e-mails trailing you
To say what have you been up to?

”I’d better run,” I hear her say
A stitch in time saves nine
I’d better fly before I snap
My sanity, in tact.

13 responses to “Hiatus

  1. I love how you captured the ‘New Age’ culture and craze in this beautiful piece! Plus, its so true and spot on the thoughts in the lines…’I’d better snap before I snap, my sanity intact’! Sleep, rest and relaxation are fast becoming quite luxurious and a pretty tall order these days! Even when one’s supposedly putting one’s feet up, with the intent to get some rest in, it isn’t quite complete with one’s phone in hand and Wifi securely plugged into place! Some kinda rest that is! 😂😂😂

    You did great with the Prompt Zee and the illustration of that working girl perhaps nursing a migraine, is pretty cool! Kudos girl, you brought this! ❤😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice! I like the lines…my only wahala was with the ‘a stitch in time saves nine’ bit. Cliches can be so anyhow…

    That said… there’s a certain way you play with rhythm in this poem… There’s this fine up down thing. Nice…really nice. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

