Day 3 – Enable Me!

Here comes Day 3 of NaPoWriMo and I’m loving it.Today’s prompt was different: to write a fourteener. Fourteeners can be have any number of lines, but each line should have fourteen syllables.. I loved the challenge though and went straight to work. Below is what I came up with, I hope you find it meaningful.

images (5)

Image: jloesq.com

I feel his pain, sometimes his shame at what he’s led to bear
I hear his sighs, emotion-laden, see his toil for naught
His back is bent, his skin sun-burnt, from burdens weighing down
Beneath the laughter, I can tell, he’s choking up inside

There never was a better way by which a man be armed
Than lead him to the pond to learn how his own fish to catch
Hand not to him the beggar’s alms to feed him for a day
But help him earn the dignity of fending for his own

“Enable me!” I hear him scream. “Help me stand on my feet
My son would never have to steal, my daughter spread her legs
I beg you for your candle flame, assist to light my own
Your light will not diminish then but make the world aglow.”

17 responses to “Day 3 – Enable Me!

  1. ‘ Give a man a fish, and you feed him for a day; teach him to fish; and you feed him for several lifetimes’. This right here brings this golden saying home to me!

    You really are given to a lotta wisdom Zee, and that’s a gift; given of the Lord! May He continually replenish and pour His fresh oil on you! You go gurl! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

