Success, Me And You

Work in Progress2
I am not a success. Yet. And that’s by your definition.
Why, I have not the things that money can buy.

I am not a success. Yet. And that’s by your definition.
Why, I have not a house of my own, so that I can be called a landlord.

I am not a success. Yet. And that’s by your definition.
Why, I have not a ride to wheel me through the highway.

I am not a success. Yet. And that’s by your definition.
Why, I have not a bachelor’s, neither master’s nor a doctorate.

I am not a success. Yet. And that’s by your definition.
Why, I have not a job – the kind that gets me a regular paycheck.

I am not a success. Yet. And that’s by your definition.
Why, I am but a spinster, a bachelor, a lone pole with a heart.

I am not a success. Yet. And that’s by your definition.
Why, I have not a son or a daughter to call my own.

I am not a success. Yet. And that’s by your definition.
Why, I’ve sown seeds that just won’t see the light of day or grow to fruition.

I am not a success. Yet. And that’s by your definition.
Why, I have not a first class, not a second, but sit with the rest of the ranks.

I am not a success. Yet. And that’s by your definition.
Why, I come from rock-bottom. Far beneath the elite.

I am not a success. Yet. And that’s by your definition.
I am faceless, nameless, voiceless.

I am not a success? Yet? Now here’s my definition:

I have things that money cannot buy –
True love, true family, true friends, true relationship,
And with the Greatest Friend of all.

No mortgage in my name, yes but no debt in my name.
No ride, yes but I move.

No degrees, yes but not without an education.
Unemployed, yes but employable.

Unmarried, yes but marriageable.
Childless, yes but working hard to be the kind of parent,
That any child would be proud of.

Not of your class, yes but every bit worthy.
The tallest trees started from beneath the soil.
They were faceless, nameless, voiceless too.

I am not a success? Perhaps. But I am succeeding.
I am work in progress. And that is all I need to know.
Work in Progress

12 responses to “Success, Me And You

  1. “Not of your class but every bit worthy” this really struck a chord…
    Success is not defined by things tangible but by impact, by besting yourself every time, by achieving set goals, helping others achieve their potentials

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow Honeycomb, this is definitely food for thought! Inspirational and very thought-provoking!

    Success is what we say it is and make of it! Its relative! Its a process and its certainly not final, neither is failure fatal! As a single footstep will not make a path on the Earth nor a single thought a pathway in the mind; to make a deep physical path, we walk again and again! To make a deep mental path, we must think over and over again, the kind of thought we wish to dominate our lives! So if I say am a success regadless of whatever, then I am! I am who I think I am and who God says I am, not who people think and say I am! Plus, those things we tend to take for granted, friends, family and relationships, are actually the real things, as opposed to material wealth, which are basic and very important, but not the ultimate!

    I love this my darling! Wisdom and grace multiplied! Soar on up gurl! LOL

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

