Of Being Liked

 

Hello readers, I had fun writing this post. It kind of captures what happens just before and after I hit that publish button on Worpress. It happens to me sometimes and I had a good laugh reading thru afterwards. However, I believe the best thing is just to write what you enjoy writing as if no one else will read it. Sometimes, that makes you write better. What do you think?

 

Wordpress Publish Button

Click goes the mouse
Click
I hit the Publish button
Click

Tick, tock, says the clock
Who will be the first to like?
One, two, three, four, five
Here it goes…incoming mail!

Ding! it goes, click I go
Xoxo liked your post on this
Six, seven, eight, nine, ten
Here’s another email, Ding!

Hello Writer! Comes the call
Here’s another like from Zuzu
You’re not doing badly buddy
Five people liked it so far, nice!

Then I wait, it’s comments time!
Zeezee dear, I’m loving this
Tap, tap, tap, my keyboard goes
Thank you, Reader, for your time.

(Then I whisper) Hey, hit these buttons

Wordpress Share buttons Worepress Follow button

15 responses to “Of Being Liked

  1. Writer or no writer, everyone wants to be noticed! When you do something you know should publicise you, you feel that anxiety, that pang of despair.
    Wonderful muse Zee. At least, it will make newbies feels they aren’t alone it it! Lols…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Julianah. Every newbie feels that, really. However, we quickly learn that, if we write only because people like, then our growth most likely would be stunted. But if we write because we want to, and out of a natural love to pen down, then we would just enjoy ourselves.

      Like

      • Hmmm…that’s so true…the line between pleasing the audience and failing to, which makes writers their own audience…I sure get your point Zee. It’s a serious feeling….

        Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

